You are viewing 1 of 2 articles without an email address.

All our articles are free to read, but complete your details for free access to full site!

Already a Member?
Login Join us now

MK smart art

Artists worked closely with MK:Smart on the digital installation which aims to visualise the hidden fabric of the city 

Ground Resistance by Wesley Goatley and Georgina Voss
Ground Resistance by Wesley Goatley and Georgina Voss

A digital-based art installation that uses data from Milton Keynes smart city project, MK:Smart Data Hub and other sources has gone on display in the city centre.


Commissioned by the Open University as part of the Milton Keynes International Festival 2016, the installation purports to make the city’s data and logistical infrastructures “visible to audiences in a creative, dynamic and innovative way”.


Created by artists Wesley Goatley and Georgina Voss, Ground Resistance is an exploration of how Milton Keynes appears as a smart city through the data that it generates, and what this data reveals about the concept of the smart city itself.


Audiences will be invited to walk through and around a projected representation of Milton Keynes, watching live data from utilities, communications, and sensors pulse through the city, while learning how these systems work and the data they carry. Throughout the installation, sounds respond live to the data, creating a unique sonic experience which will change with each visit.


On the outskirts of the city, the artists have installed their own sensors at the National Museum of Computing in Bletchley Parks to capture live data from the commercial aircrafts whose movements underpin the international capacity of smart cities. Audiences watch and listen to the movement of planes, while learning how radio is still a key component of these systems – and how far our access to this data extends.


The project is led by Enrico Motta, professor of knowledge technologies at the Knowledge Media Institute (KMi) of The Open University and his team of researchers from MK:Smart will work closely with the artists to provide new sources of data to explore and share.


Add New Comment
You must be a member if you wish to add a comment - why not join for free - it takes just 60 seconds!