WEBINAR: The million sensors you didn’t know you already have. The unexpected value of a city’s fibre revealed

Understand how the fibres below our feet can detect movement and produce data which can be used to control traffic in an intelligent way to reduce congestion, emissions and improve air quality & safety.

LinkedInTwitterFacebook
WEBINAR: The million sensors you didn’t know you already have. The unexpected value of a city’s fibre revealed

Date:

9 September 2020

 

Time:

10am (EDT), 3pm (BST),

4pm (CET), 7.30pm (IST)

 

Length:

60 mins, including Q&A

 

Register Here

 

Connecting people, sensors, machines and the overall internet is the humble optical fibre. Millions of kilometres of fibre are installed in the world’s cities every year and with DAS (Distributed Acoustic Sensing) these fibres can be converted into millions of Acoustic, Vibration, Temperature and Strain sensors - The fibre cable becomes a line of thousands of sensors!

 

In the webinar we will show how the fibres below our feet can detect our footsteps and the movements of vehicles on the road beside us, producing data which can be used to control traffic in an intelligent way to reduce congestion and emissions and improve air quality and safety.

 

We’ll also look at how DAS can be used to detect threats to infrastructure such as pipelines and cables and how we can not only protect those assets from damage, but also locate a fault, such as a failure on a power cable much more quickly and safely.

 

Make cities and transportation intelligent with DAS operating on the humble fibre to improve:

  • Safety
  • Efficiency
  • The Environment

And protect:

  • Pipelines
  • Cables
  • Infrastructure

There is also a Q&A session from the audience.

 

Speakers:

Stuart Large, Fotec Solutions.png

Stuart Large

Product Line Director & Business Development

Fotec Solutions

 

Stuart has spent more than 20 years in leading-edge sensor technology. Originally from the Oil & Gas sector, Stuart leads Fotech’s vision for Smart Cities and takes a hands-on approach in driving innovation and development of the use cases for distributed fibre optic sensing technology in cities.

Graeme Neill

Editor

SmartCitiesWorld

Graeme has many years of experience as a B2B journalist and editor, specialising in technological innovation and its impact in cities.

Register Here

 

 

LinkedInTwitterFacebook